PONTE VEDRA, Fla. – The PGA TOUR’s TPC Network is pleased to announce six superintendents and their respective clubs are recipients of the prestigious 2016 Environmental Leaders in Golf Awards (ELGA), including one national honoree. The competition is presented by the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America (GCSAA) and Golf Digest magazine, in conjunction with Syngenta and Rain Bird’s Golf Division.

The annual ELGA awards recognize golf courses across the nation leading the industry in sound environmental management practices. Beneficiaries are selected by an independent panel of experts and judged on criteria such as: water conservation, water quality management, energy conservation, pollution prevention, waste management, wildlife and habitat conservation, communication and outreach and leadership.

“As an extension of the PGA TOUR, our clubs share the same values and mission upheld by the TOUR, making their commitment to the environment a top priority,” said PGA TOUR Golf Course Properties Senior Vice President of TPC Operations John Hugghins. “By doing so, we’re helping ensure TPC Network golf courses are able to provide exceptional golfing experiences amidst rich ecosystems now, as well as for generations to come.”

Taking home the title for best National Public Course is Alex Stuedemann, Director of Golf Course Maintenance Operations at TPC Deere Run, host of the John Deere Classic. With a near 18-year career history in agronomy at various TPC properties, his efforts at TPC Deere Run have honed in on pollution prevention, putting practices such as water conservation and proactive native area management in place to ensure the area’s natural resources and rich historical significance are preserved.

In addition to National Honoree Stuedemann, the following superintendents were selected as chapter winners, as well as one merit winner:

  • Brandon Reese, TPC Louisiana, chapter winner
  • Dale Hahn, TPC Summerlin, chapter winner
  • Jeff Reich, TPC River Highlands, chapter winner
  • Jim Thomas, TPC Southwind, chapter winner
  • Timothy Connolly, TPC Jasna Polana, chapter winner
  • Dave Davies, TPC Stonebrae, merit winner

All PGA TOUR’s owned and operated TPC properties are proud certified members of the Audubon Cooperative Sanctuary Program for Golf, reflecting the Network-wide commitment to sustainability. Since first recognized in 1996, TPC Network properties have maintained a strong presence in the GCSAA’s list of environmental leaders.


About the TPC Network

Owned, operated, and licensed by the PGA TOUR, the TPC Network is comprised of 32 premier private, resort and daily fee golf properties designed by some of golf’s most elite architects. Twenty of the clubs are operated by affiliates of PGA TOUR Golf Course Properties, Inc. Each TPC has hosted or has been designed to host TOUR-sponsored golf tournaments. Since TPC Sawgrass first opened its world renowned PLAYERS Stadium Course in the fall of 1980, TPCs have provided the PGA TOUR with rent-free venues for tournaments, helping to boost championship golf purses and increasing charitable donations to grass roots non-profit organizations. At the same time, TPCs have provided recreational golfers with the unique opportunity to test their skills on the same layouts where the world’s best golfers compete.

TPCs are known for their history of hosting PGA TOUR-sponsored golf tournaments, their outstanding conditioning and amenities, as well as a commitment to environmental excellence. The TPC Network is also distinguished by its unwavering commitment to further the PGA TOUR’s “Together, anything’s possible” giving back mission through support of charitable and community-based programs. For more information, please visit www.tpc.com. For the most up-to-date news, follow the TPC Network on Twitter (@PlayTPC), Instagram (@PlayTPC) or Facebook.com/TPCNetwork.